More Adventures in Cake Decorating!

Yesterday was our neighbors’ other son’s birthday, so once again I made an Angry Birds cake. She wanted a simpler one this time, so I ditched the FBCT technique for good old-fashioned buttercream decorating.

Seths 4th bday 003

First, I baked and frosted a chocolate cake. I used extra cake batter in my takoyaki maker to make small cake balls. Word to the wise – cake batter really rises a lot. Don’t fill up those takoyaki molds unless you want cake batter EVERYWHERE. No more than half to two-thirds of the way!! I then made buttercream for the colors, and here I am dying the colors I’ll need.

Seths 4th bday 007r

To put the base color on the birds and piggies, I didn’t even pipe the icing – I used a spoon. You can also see the cake I used for inspiration. It looks like they used fondant, but I prefer buttercream.

Seths 4th bday 012

Here are the birds and piggies with base colors applied. I stuck them to the cake with toothpicks.

Seths 4th bday 015r

I piped the eyes and white parts on next.

Seths 4th bday 016

Then, I added ears and noses to the piggies.

Seths 4th bday 018

Time for beaks and nostrils!

Seths 4th bday 019

Finished with the details!

Seths 4th bday 021r

I then wrote on the cake with white icing.

Seths 4th bday 025r

After that, I added towers around the piggies using wafer cookies. The bottom, vertical cookies are stuck in with toothpicks, while the horizontal cookies are pasted on top with buttercream. 🙂

Seths 4th bday 029r

Seth seemed to like his cake!

Seths 4th bday 032r

Seth with his chocolate face and his birthday gift.

Well, that’s all for this weekend. We’re having a dinner party this weekend, so we should have more pictures soon!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Lange
    Oct 01, 2014 @ 11:13:08

    Lucky Seth! His cake is supper cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

