Weekend in Kyoto: Sunday

Sunday was my birthday, and the Liquor Mountain Wine Festival! It was a good way to spend my 30th birthday!

Toji 016r

We began our day at Toji!

Toji 045r

Here I am at Toji. I was super excited that I found cute shoes that fit my “giant” feet the day before (I wear a US 9/Japan 25-26)! I also found adorable shirts, one of which I’m wearing here!

Toji 048r

Here is the 5 tiered pagoda at Toji.

Toji 066r

I got to see a crane up close and personal, too!

Toji 085r

The turtles were very bold, as well!

Kintetsu Kyoto Station 019

After Toji, we walked back to Kyoto Station. This cool fountain was in Kyoto Kintetsu Station and made many cool designs and patterns.

Malebranche Cafe 001

I have an eye for cake, and found this magnificent shop in the Kintetsu Station. It was called Malebranche. This is Teddy’s Bali Bali Tiramisu.

Malebranche Cafe 003r

I got a strawberry spongecake, and it was a delicious and perfect birthday cake!

Cafe Masuontoko 004

We took the subway to Kyoto Shiyakusho-mae and walked through the covered arcades until we found Matsuontoko, a vegan cafe. We both got the burger set of the day. It was teriyaki soy chicken chunks on a hamburger bun with fries and a salad, and it was great.

WanNyanChu 002r

After that, we headed over to Wan Nyan Chu, a cat cafe near Shijo.

WanNyanChu 019r

There were many cute cats.

WanNyanChu 056r

Another cute kitty.

Wetzels Pretzels 001r

Before heading to our final Kyoto destination (the Liquor Mountain Wine Festival), we stopped at Wetzel’s Pretzels and got an original pretzel and an almond crunch pretzel. Yum!!

Well, that’s all for Kyoto! If the weather cooperates, look forward to another fun post next weekend. It’s our anniversary, so I’m sure we’ll strive to do something exciting!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Lange
    May 13, 2014 @ 11:48:57

    Love the kitties! Jen you look amazing! Happy Birthday!!!

    Reply

  2. Marie Elder
    May 13, 2014 @ 22:14:57

    I love your pictures! The cats are so cute. You look lovely too. Happy Birthday and Anniversary.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

