Another Fun Weekend with Friends!

This weekend, we ate a lot of yummy food and spent time with friends. I also started my veranda garden!

Tofu and Satoimo 001r

Last week, we got our farm box, so this week was filled with yummy mixed green salads. I also received satoimo – taro root in English. It can be kind of slimy, so I was scared, but I boiled it, deep fried it, and then poured sauce over it and it was pretty good!

Tantanmen 002

I also tried my hand at making tantanmen, a Japanese interpretation of a Chinese dish. I put dried shiitake, fresh mushrooms, fried tofu, soy meat, green onions, and carrots in mine.

Cooking with Hannah and Krista 001r

Friday, two girls from my work came over and we made avocado pasta, salad, and focaccia!

Cooking with Hannah and Krista 002r

Teddy with our friends!

Shonai Ryokuchi Koen 267r

Saturday, we biked to Royal Home Center in Kiyosu and bought some plants, potting soil, and pumice (for pot drainage). I bought 2 kinds of cherry tomatoes, a couple basil plants, and a couple zucchini plants. Today, I went to an old lady’s flower shop and bought a jalapeno plant and a Korean hot pepper plant. After we went to the home center, we went to Shonai Ryokuchi Koen for a late season hanami picnic.

Kiharutei 005r

In the evening, we met up with Nico and her husband at Tsurumai and went to Kiharutei. This was only our second time there, but they remembered us. I was super surprised! We got the red tantanmen, and this Chinese stirfry dish. It was yummy.

Karaoke001

After dinner, we went to Sakae for karaoke.

Karaoke002

Me singing.

Karaoke003

Nico and Fernando.

Karaoke004r

I got pretty enthusiastic by the end.

Osu Latin Festival 007r

Today we biked down to Osu to buy some things at Amika and to see the Latin Festival. These people were playing instruments in the arcade to advertise the arcade sale.

Osu Latin Festival 013r

The Latin Festival took place around the giant Maneki Niko statue.

Osu Latin Festival 021r

It seemed to be mainly dance performances.

Osu Latin Festival 026r

Interesting costumes.

Osu Latin Festival 027r

These little girls were super cute.

Osu Latin Festival 028r

A close up of the one little girl.

Easter Dinner 2014 001r

After the festival, we came home and I made Easter dinner. Hannah brought tomb cookies and Krista brought bread. Teddy made salad and I made lasagne.

Easter Dinner 2014 002

My lasagne. I made everyone happy because we all got to have leftovers! Woooo!

Easter Dinner 2014 003r

Happy Easter!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barbara Lange
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 09:01:56

    Happy Easter!! The lasagna looks delicious!

    Reply

  2. Marie Elder
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 21:26:46

    We missed you at Easter dinner……glad you had good food and good friends. Keep smiling!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

