Hakuba, Part Two: Paragliding

After the hot air balloon, we hung out for a bit, and then we tried paragliding. This paragliding was not super scary, though. You really didn’t even go very high. You basically attach an air foil kite to yourself, run down a hill, and get lifted up a little bit. So, it was pretty cool! (I did end up with awful bruises on my arms from the harness, though!!)

Paragliding 010r

One of the paragliders.

Paragliding 016r

The elementary Japanese teacher was the guinea pig.

Paragliding 032r

Me getting hooked in.

Paragliding 034r

All ready!!

Paragliding 043r

I don’t think they expected me to run this fast…

Paragliding 046r

I kind of shot up, and then, embarrassingly enough, when I hit the ground, I made a super poor landing and face planted! I didn’t hit hard, though, so I just got dirt on myself.

Paragliding 061r

After flying, you had to carry the paraglider back up the hill to your partner.

Paragliding 082r

Teddy is all ready to fly.

Paragliding 086r

We didn’t do this, but you can also do tandem flights that go over the mountains!

Paragliding 095r

My partner waiting for her turn!

Paragliding 124r

Our neighbor really flew!!

Paragliding 138r

Teddy carrying the paraglider.

Paragliding 235r

Me flying again. I didn’t fall on my face this time!

Paragliding 312r

My partner flying.

Afterwards, we went to Lion Cafe, which was owned by the company who ran both events we tried. They even had vegetarian food!

Cafe Lion 001

I got a really yummy hot cocoa.

Cafe Lion 004r

For a meal, I got the pumpkin sandwich with fries. It was delicious!

Well, that’s all for Hakuba!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Donehoo
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 21:39:48

    You have so many adventures! I probably wouldn’t paraglide or go in a hot air balloon. The hot chocolate looks really good and I don’t even like hot chocolate. Tell me about the pumpkin sandwich…

    Reply

  2. Grace
    Oct 14, 2013 @ 10:50:07

    Honored to be in your blog😉

    Reply

  3. Marie Elder
    Oct 15, 2013 @ 14:07:24

    You seem to have had a wonderful time….it’s great to be young….you’ll have a lot to talk about when you are 89!!! Enjoy!!!!

    Reply

  4. Barb Lange
    Oct 16, 2013 @ 18:04:02

    It’s really cool you get to see and do so many wonderful things!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

