Fire Performance

Something I really miss about Kyoto is going to the Kamogawa at night. On weekends in pretty much every season but winter, fire dancers perform at the Kamogawa next to the Sanjo Ohashi (Sanjo Keihan Station, exit 6). We went to watch these guys three nights this time. We chatted with them a bit, too. Their names are Kousuke (the shorter haired one) and Muuta.

On our way to the river, we saw this cat, who looks highly ashamed.

Cat

I think she belonged to the people who owned the shop, because she was sitting on their sign with some of their merchandise hanging off of her. She let me pet her.

Fire 1

Muuta making a big fire flare.

Fire 2

Spinning circles.

Fire 3

Eating fire.

Mask

Sometimes, Kousuke uses a mask while dancing.

Fire 4

People watching the dance.

Fire 5

Spinning fire again.

Fire 6

And again.

Fire 7

Fireball.

Fire 8

Eating fire.

Crystal

Muuta also does some crystal ball tricks. It looks like the ball floats around his hands. He showed me how to do it when I asked him, but it was pretty hard to make it look cool.

Fire stick

Kicking up a flaming baton.

Me

Don’t worry – they didn’t show me how to dance with a lit baton. 😀

Illegal bikes

Everyone parks their bikes illegally downtown, but I have never actually witnessed a bike collection!

Well, that is all for Friday! The next post will be about Hikone.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barb Lange
    May 07, 2013 @ 14:24:47

    Did you use a different lens for your fire pictures? I don’t remember seeing such good pictures of the fire dance from your first trip to Japan.

    Reply

  2. Marie Elder
    May 07, 2013 @ 20:20:42

    I really like to see fire dancers….I saw some in Hawaii awhile back. Your pix are fantastic!!!!

    Reply

  3. Jen
    May 08, 2013 @ 07:09:58

    I used a different camera. The first time I was here, I had a regular digital camera.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

