Delicious Food

Between the powers of the Internet, my phone, and friends, we found a variety of delicious places to eat this past weekend. I also made a delightful Easter dinner!

Finding vegetarian food in Japan that’s not Italian or Indian food can be a bit of a mission. I usually rely on HappyCow to help me out, but they left a bit to be desired when it came to Nagoya.

Friday after work, we walked over to Yuya Cafe, a small “Vegetable and Healing Cafe” that I found with my phone.

Yuya Cafe is on the border of Nishi-ku, Nagoya and Kiyosu-shi. It is a vegan cafe. This super delicious dinner set only cost about 1,000 yen.

Dinner Set

Walnuts

These walnuts were a “saabisu”, which is Japanese for “service” and means that it’s something they are giving you for free.

Creamer

Teddy with the tiniest soy creamer.

Saturday, we tried really hard to eat at a vegetarian restaurant. Restaurant #1 was closed. Permanently. Restaurant #2 was open, but had stopped serving food at 2, so we were “stuck” getting cake. This place is called Pupu Cafe, and is vegan.

Cake

One of us got the strawberry cake, and the other got apple cake. They looked about the same, so I just put the picture of the apple cake up. These cakes were really good!

For dinner, we headed to Shinsakae-machi and dined at Desperados. Nagoyayahoo says that it’s the best Tex-Mex in Nagoya. It was super good, but pretty expensive. We got 2 margaritas, 2 burritos, and 1 guacamole and chips, and it came to 4,000 yen.

Margarita

We got the margaritas frozen. They were kind of like kaki-gouri (Japanese shaved ice).

Guac

Chips and guacamole. This was amazingly delicious.

Burrito

Rice and Bean Burritos. They were absolutely amazing.

When Takami and her friend came to visit us, I asked her friend, who is a baker, for her recommendation of nearby delicious cake shops. She recommended Regnie (pronounced “Reh-nee-ay”) and I am super glad that she did, because it was amazing.

Regnie 1

This is the cake Teddy got. It was chocolate and macadamia.

Regnie 2

I got chocolate and raspberry.

Regnie 3

Teddy’s cute cafe latte.

For Easter dinner, I made us spicy seitan sausage, scalloped potatoes, challah, and steamed broccoli. We had Godiva chocolates, sent by Barb, for dessert.

I had to rise my bread under my kotatsu (heated table) because our apartment, like all Japanese buildings, is poorly insulated. I then baked it in my amazing Japanese oven, and I swear that this is the most beautiful loaf of bread I have ever made. This Japanese oven is amazing.

Challah

Easter Meal

Our meal.

Dessert

Our dessert!

Well, that’s all for now! This week, we have a four day weekend, so look forward to some more postings sometime after Thursday!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Barb Lange
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 16:55:38

    Easter dinner looks so delicious……I agree, the bread looks amazing! The tex-mex food looks really good too.

    Reply

  2. Marie Elder
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 18:24:11

    Yummy!!!!!

    Reply

  3. Mom
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 14:10:48

    The food all looks great! That tiny cup Teddy was holding didn’t even look like an ounce was in it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

